This is the old Version of MeroSpark, all the data and pages are migrated to

The Five Stage of Grief – Four Levels | Adventures in English

Download our Android App from Google Play Store and start reading Reference Notes on your mobile.

Linda PastanAdventures in English
The Five Stage of Grief – Four Levels
Linda Pastan (1932 – )

Literal Comprehension:
When the speaker lost her husband, someone suggest that she should go through the five stage of grief. First of them was denial. She denied his absence and gave him the toast and the paper at the breakfast table. But he hide behind the paper. Then she was angry. Therefore she burned to the toast and took the paper from his hand forcefully and start to read it herself. The third stage was bargaining. What could she exchange for him? What would she gain if she remain silent after quarreling? Before she decided she was depressed (sad). Their relation was poor and weak. Then she hope for improvement but it was useless. Afterward she accepted his loss but she realize that the matter did not end there. It start again because in conjugal life this kind of grief is a repetitive.

This poem might be trying to tell us that the relation between the husband and the wife is always changing. They can not always live happily compromising with the reality. In their life grief is a circular staircase.

Critical Thinking:
Linda Pastan has clearly expressed the bitter experience of a married woman when her relation with her husband becomes bad. This poem is in the form of prose. It sound like drama. The speaker is addressing her husband and pouring her emotions. The poet has use green and neon for “flickering hope.”

When I read this poem I came to know more about the life of the married couple. They have almost similar experiences everywhere in the world. This poem also reminded me of Cublor Ross who has charted five psychological stages of grief.

Posted By : Hari Prasad Chaudhary | Comment RSS | Category : Bachelor Level, Pokhara University
Tag :

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *